Finally getting back to normal

Been a bit barren on the blog front the last couple of weeks, but I’ve not done too much due to my neck injury and then the cold from hell, so there’s not really been much to update.  I’ve managed some odd swims, which have not been particularly pleasant with a snotty and blocked nose, so they’ve just comprised of doing a few lengths then having a rest to unblock, then swimming again.  I had an attempted cycle to Wymondham to my gym session appointment, but that had to be aborted due to the fact that I didn’t actually seem to be able to cycle faster than about 2 miles per hour, probably due to the chesty cough I’ve had and not being properly recovered from my cold.  I had to call Andy and get him to pick me up and take me the rest of the way in the van as I would have been about 30 minutes late otherwise. 

I finally felt good enough to go back to gymnastics on Tuesday and was wondering how much that would take out of me, but it wasn’t as bad as I’d feared! 🙂  Managed some stuff on the floor and a session on the bars, although bits of me ached the next day from tumbling round the bar.  Was good fun though and nice to be able to do something properly again. 

Feeling bouyed up from not dying on Tuesday, I headed off to Giovanna’s spinning class last night.  Was a bit worried I may be knackered within the first 15 minutes, but I think I caught it on the easy session, so it wasn’t as bad as I thought it might be.  We did some interval sessions and then a longer session at base fitness rate, and for the last section I felt able to ramp it up as I was feeling ok.  Going back made me realised how much I’d missed the class and I left feeling rather bouyed with my performance.   Hopefully I can now throw myself back into everything and there shouldn’t have been too much of a decline in my fitness. 

The leg exercises for the Bambi leg are going pretty well and I’m hoping to notice an improvement with it over the next few weeks, especially with the running.   Feels a bit like I’ve had a disasterous couple of weeks lately, but it also seems like everything that might have gone wrong has all gone wrong at once, so I’m headed off into the future full of my usual over-enthusiasm!! 😀

This entry was posted in Training Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment